That strange no-man’s-land

The strange no-man’s-land I speak of is that awkward place between projects. I’m sure most artists/writers/creative people will know exactly what I mean.

I’ve recently completed a novel that took two years of my life, as well as finishing an expanded series of artwork that took nearly as long. I’m ready to draw a line under all I’ve done so far. I’m filled with ideas for new stories and art. Yet I don’t feel it’s the right time to initiate anything new. Because first of all I actually have to DO SOMETHING with the work I’ve created!

I know it’s time to take my babies and get them out into the world. They weren’t created just to sit hidden away in drawers. I don’t know how they’ll fare in the big bad world, but I do know it’s time to nudge them out of the nest in the hopes they’ll spread their wings and fly. It’s an exciting, scary and disorienting time.

I must confess, I’m in no way a salesman. The art of marketing and selling is totally alien to me. In an ideal world I’d have someone else to take my creations and market them, someone whose passion and talent lies in this very field. But I don’t see that happening anytime soon. So, it’s really up to me!

Question is: what am I going to do?

More on this to come…

Leave a Reply

