A famous author in the family!

I was surprised and delighted to learn that my great, great great uncle was actually a very successful 19th century author! He was from my mother’s side of the family, several branches of which are quite sketchy, which is why we hadn’t known of him until she began actively researching the family tree.

This is William Black:

Image

His Wikipedia entry can be found here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Black_(novelist)

Born in 1841 in Glasgow, he was a both prolific and successful author and his work was compared with Anthony Trollope. Alas, his fame didn’t extend much beyond his death in 1898 and I don’t think his books are currently in print, although some of the texts are available via Project Gutenberg.

I was pleased to learn about him, and will definitely be checking out his work. It’s inspiring to know there was a successful author in the family and I hope, in the not too distant future, to follow in his footsteps. 

Here’s to my very great uncle! I hope I can do him proud.

2 thoughts on “A famous author in the family!”

    1. Awesome, thanks for the link Harrison. I did look on Amazon but didn’t find anything, not sure how this eluded me! Amazing, i’m reading the first paragraphs and admiring his poetic prose. Look forward to owning a copy 🙂

Leave a Reply

