Eladria: Book trailer, pre-launch and blog tour request!

webs

Hey guys, it’s been a tremendously busy time as I’ve been gearing up for the publication of my first novel, Eladria.

Although I’ve been preparing for months and the publisher has done all the groundwork, there’s still been a heck of a lot to do. But it’s all coming together and I am really pleased and excited. A number of people already have the book even though it’s not officially published for another 9 days. Amazon obviously decided it was too good to keep sitting in their warehouses so they sent out the preorders the moment they were in stock! Well, I’m choosing to assume that was their reasoning 😉

So far feedback has been extremely positive, which is an enormous relief as you can imagine!

So what is Eladria? It’s a fantasy novel with elements of science fiction and a dash of metaphysics, taking familiar elements and conventions from those genres and weaving them into something new. It’s aimed at all ages from young adult upward. It’s a novel that has already demonstrated appeal to a broad readership — including those who’d never normally pick up a fantasy or sci-fi book. That in itself is pretty neat.

BOOK TRAILER

I spent quite a bit of time on this and I’m actually really pleased with the results. Especially considering my limited resources and technical skills and how hard it actually is to make a decent book trailer. I think this captures the epic and cinematic nature of the novel. The music I used is a track from the soundtrack, which I composed myself. Let me know what you think of it, I’d love to hear your feedback and what impression it gives you of the book.

The book trailer is being followed up by a number of videos featuring music from the soundtrack, with images and text from the book. This was planned as kind of a multimedia release. I always like to do things just a bit differently.

SYNOPSIS

Writers usually dread writing synopses! Seriously. Writing a good synopsis can be harder than writing the novel itself. It’s no mean feat condensing a 300+ novel into a couple of succinct paragraphs and making it sound as exciting and enticing as possible. There have been countless variations of the Eladria synopsis over the past couple of years. Here’s the latest version.

The fate of an entire world is changed forever when Tahnadra’s royal moon is attacked and overthrown by terrorists. Seventeen year-old Princess Eladria is forced to witness the destruction of her home and the execution of her father. Only narrowly escaping with her life, she flees to the planet, now finding herself a fugitive on her own world. 

Lost in a hostile and unfamiliar land ravaged by generations of war, Eladria encounters more dangers than she could ever have imagined. While evading bounty hunters and hostile militia, the princess encounters a race of beings claiming to exist outside of linear time and space. They tell Eladria that she has a pivotal role to play in determining the fate of her world, imploring her to travel to the fabled land of Drantak. Eladria’s mother, who disappeared when she was a child, is apparently being held there as part of a dangerous experiment — one that must be stopped at all costs. An unknown foe is attempting to pierce the barriers between dimensions and unleash an ancient force of evil that was aeons ago banished from the mortal realm.

As the walls between dimensions rapidly collapse, Eladria realizes that she has no choice but to heed the call of her destiny. She alone can save her mother and prevent this dark force from returning to consume her world. But her path is filled with obstacles and before long everything is called into question. Is it possible she’s somehow being deceived and manipulated? Is there anyone she can really trust? Who is the disturbingly familiar adversary who’s been lurking amid the shadows her entire life? And just how much is she prepared to sacrifice in order to succeed in her mission?

WHY MIGHT PEOPLE WANT TO READ THE BOOK?

aa-reading-owl1Ooh. Don’t say I never ask myself the tough questions.

Right from the (literally) explosive opening chapters, the action unfolds at a brisk pace as various mysterious and dramas unfold, interspersed with a series of startling twists and turns. It’s a book with sympathetic, relatable but flawed characters and universal themes of life, love, redemption, self realisation and learning to overcome adversity and inner demons.There’s something for just about everyone in Eladria: action, adventure, drama, mystery and pathos, interspersed with elements of metaphysics and philosophy. Written in a simple, fluid and easy-to-read style, it has the all hallmarks of a page-turner, and one that might just stick with you long after you’ve read the last paragraph. Although it can be read as a straight-up adventure story, there are themes and metaphors embedded in the story that people can reflect on if they want (and if they don’t, that’s not a problem either). It can be read on different levels by different people.

LAUNCHING A BOOK!

buy_my_book2
Don’t worry, this is not my style!

This is my first published work so I don’t have any experience in launching a book. I am however learning as I go along and taking advice from fellow authors! I am not someone who feels particularly adept at marketing and promotion but I’m endeavouring to do it in my own way, playing to my particular strengths. I don’t want to pester people with spam and thinly-veiled attempts at selling my book. That never works for me, so why should I assume it’ll work when I do it to other people?

Instead I want to let people know that have a book being published and share the journey, the ups and downs and ins and outs. And also hopefully engage them by telling them about the world and the characters I’ve created and share the artwork and music I’ve done to make this an interesting, multimedia experience. I’ve spent a lot of time updating and redesigning my website, which is jam-packed with stuff about all aspects of the book, and is still expanding all the time. It’s been a lot of work but great fun. I want to give back to my readers so I have composed and created a music soundtrack which is being offered as a free CD or free mp3 download! I’ll let you know when it’s available to download. It’s taken months and months of work, but I’m really pleased with it.

BLOG TOUR REQUEST

One of the most exciting things for an author to do is to participate in a blog tour! It’s an amazing way to not only promote your work but to connect with other bloggers and readers. I always enjoy reading author interviews, although that could partly be because I’m an author myself!

I have already arranged some bloghops for the next few weeks, but I was wondering if anyone would like to feature me on their blog, perhaps in the form of an interview or guest post? I’d be both honoured and grateful and can speak about anything to do with the process of writing, creating a book or any of the many themes presented in the novel. Let me know if you fancy having me pay a visit to your blog. I am a very courteous guest! Also, if there are any keen reviewers out there who would like to read and review Eladria, I would be happy to provide a PDF or free print copy. Let me know by leaving a comment or emailing me.

Fellow blogger Rohan Healy, himself an extremely talented author, has just posted and amazing, detailed and insightful 5 star review of Eladria. I’m absolutely delighted with it, check it out here!

PRE-LAUNCH LAUNCH!

It’s a genuine buzz to see that the paperback edition of Eladria is now available to purchase from a wide range of online stores, including Amazon.com, Amazon.co.uk (you can also preorder the low-price Kindle edition by following those links), Barnes & Noble, Waterstones, Book Depository (free international postage!), Apple iBooks and more. I’m also selling signed copies from my website — which include the aforementioned soundtrack CD and a nifty-looking bookmark.

Book, bookmark and CD!

If you want to learn more, please visit my Eladria website. There’s so much to explore on there; not just info on the book, but an introduction to a whole new world, with its history and conflicts, biographies and illustrations of the characters, free short stories and coming very soon extracts, music videos and an online press kit.

It’s been an amazing journey for me and one I hope to share with you!

 

18 thoughts on “Eladria: Book trailer, pre-launch and blog tour request!”

  1. Great synopsis! I don’t usually read sci-fi, but I think I will buy your book. I also just did an interview on my blog. Click the link and ask Elisa to interview you. She only does interviews on her blog. Good luck with the marketing!

    1. Thanks Julianne, I appreciate the recommendation, I’ll go check out her blog! 🙂 Fantastic – quite a few people who don’t normally read this genre have told me they were surprised how much they loved the book. It’s very character-driven with different layers of meaning and I think that pulls people in and gives it a wide-ranging appeal. I’ll be posting the first couple of chapters in the next week 🙂

  2. I’m really happy for you Rory, especially since I know how much you have worked for this book. Make sure you can count on my help, buddy.
    P.S.: I sent you an e-mail regarding this book tour. I need additional information. Thanks and good luck!

    1. Hey Adrian! Thanks so much, I really appreciate that 🙂 I just replied to your email! Look forward to arranging a blog guest spot, that’d be awesome

  3. It must feel good to have your book finished. I feel like it is going to take me forever to finish mine. Hopefully, that won’t be the case. I’ll have to get a copy of your book. It sounds like it is going to be good.

    1. Thanks Cody, it does feel amazing, it really is a lot of work at launch time though, but it’s so worth it. It took me a long time to write the book, and I’ve actually been writing since I was in high school, so it’s taken me years and years to get published. But as my teacher often says ‘slow and steady wins the race’. How long have you been writing? If you get a copy, be sure to let me know what you think 🙂

      1. I’ve been writing for quite some time, but I only became serious about it last year. The good news is I have tons of story ideas written down. The bad news is that I am short on pages. Fortunately, that’s changing with my latest project. I’ll let you know what I think of your book after I read it.

      2. Thanks, look forward to hearing what you think! I’d day you’re off to a good start, for me it took probably a full 2 years to get my novel written, 1 year for the initial draft and then another for subsequent drafts and then….still another year of tinkering with it haha. It’s a long slow process. Although I know some people can write a lot faster. I think it’s maybe different for everyone. I look forward to hearing more about your work as it unfolds 🙂

  4. Hey Rory, wishing you all the best with the launch! Keep your expectations realistic and enjoy the ride, this is only the beginning 🙂

    I’ll be happy to do an interview with you in the coming weeks as part of your blog tour and I look forward to seeing how it all goes!

    Keep well, have fun and get lots of rest when you can 🙂

    Rohan.

    1. Fantastic, thanks Rohan! Appreciate the advice and support. An interview would be fantastic, I’ll be in touch and we can arrange something in the next week or so 🙂 Yup, feeling a little tired today, so I am gonna rest up the next couple of days!

    1. aww thanks 😀 glad you liked the trailer! Haha yeah you can tell it’s a few steps away from a movie trailer….I hope someone in Hollywood sees it and takes note 😉 We can but hope !

Leave a Reply

