Myth, Storytelling & the Journey of a Writer

blogtour

The blog tour continues, and it’s been great fun. Today I’m sharing a guest blog I wrote for my publisher, Cosmic Egg Books, which is a brand new imprint of John Hunt publishing. I put quite a bit of thought into this one, relating my creative process and the power and importance of mythology and its relationship to storytelling and why, as a culture we desperately need stories with depth and substance. Hope you find it insightful.

e1sm2

This Week Our Guest Blog is from Rory B Mackay, Author of Eladria, First Of an Epic Fantasy Series

I always knew I wanted to be a writer or storyteller of some kind. I can remember sitting in my room when I was only about six or seven and, with a pad of paper and felt tip pens in hand, I let my imagination soar freely as I conjured whole new worlds, with all kinds of characters and fantastical adventures. I had a rich and colourful inner world (the ‘real world’ simply paled in comparison!) and I knew I somehow wanted to be able to share it with others.  I started off with a story called “The Lost World”, although my dad informed me that there was already a book by that title. I’d been beaten to it — by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, no less! But that was only a minor setback for this young writer…

Click here to read more

10 thoughts on “Myth, Storytelling & the Journey of a Writer”

  1. “I always knew I wanted to be a writer or storyteller of some kind. I can remember sitting in my room when I was only about six or seven and, with a pad of paper and felt tip pens in hand, I let my imagination soar freely as I conjured whole new worlds, with all kinds of characters and fantastical adventures.”
    Your honesty is brilliant, Rory.

    1. thanks. I was once told by someone not to tell people that I came up with my stories when I was that young because it sounds ‘creepy’. I don’t care though. I was maybe a bit precocious as a kid and a little detached from the ‘real world’…but it kinda paid off years later I suppose!

      1. That’s good to know 🙂 I read your bio…I previously worked with the public in the service industry and oh my god…the human circus/zoo is a truly fascinating, bizarre and sometimes depressing thing to witness. I’m not surprised you have written a book, I must check it out when I get the time to read again, hopefully before long.

  2. You’re killing it with the blog tour mate! Well done 🙂

    Wishing you all the best with it, remember to get your rest 😉

    Rohan.

    1. Thanks! It’s been going really well, quite a big tour as it happens 🙂 Yeah, I have been able to chill a bit more this week and unwind. it was needed. Hope you been having a great week and that Ireland is enjoying the same heatwave we have here 😉

Leave a Reply

